

320 Springbrook Avenue 🗆 Suite 102 🗈 Adrian,MI 🗀 49221 🗀 517-264-4754 <a href="mailto:rrwc@lenawee.mi.us">rrwc@lenawee.mi.us</a> 🗆 <a href="https://www.riverraisin.org">www.riverraisin.org</a>

River Raisin Watershed Council 2018 Spring Semi-Annual Delegate Meeting April 25, 2018 - 6:00 PM Cabela's - Dundee, MI

1. Call to order: John Calhoun

- 2. Introductions: John Calhoun
  - 1. Senator Dale Zorn
  - 2. Monroe Mayor
  - 3. County Commissioners
  - 4. Lenawee Drain Commissioner
  - 5. ITC Representative
- 3. Roll Call: KZ Bolton Quorum: (24) (29) Present
  - a. Adrian Charter Township Michael Herr
  - b. Bridgewater Township Carley Kratz
  - c. Cambridge Township Laurie Johncox
  - d. Charter Township of Madison Matt Carpenter
  - e. Charter Township of York John Farmer
  - f. City of Monroe Andrew Felder/Robert Clark
  - g. City of Saline Christen Mitchell/David Rhoads
  - h. Columbia Township John Calhoun
  - i. Deerfield Township Ron Cousino
  - j. Dundee Township Gary Lazette
  - k. Fairfield Township Marty Oard
  - l. Frenchtown Charter Township Hedi Kaufman/David Smith
  - m. Lenawee County KZ Bolton/Jim Driskell
  - n. London Township Joanne Darling
  - o. Manchester Township Sybil Kolon
  - p. Milan Township Olga Mancik
  - q. Monroe County David Hoffman
  - r. Monroe Charter Township Richard Janssens
  - s. Norvell Township David Lamb/Buck Alar
  - t. Raisinville Township Charles Haddix
  - u. Rome Township Roxann Sweet
  - v. Sharon Twp. Jim Mann
  - w. Summerfield Township John Chandler
  - x. Tecumseh Township Gerry Donaldson
  - y. Village of Brooklyn Bob Jenson
  - z. Village of Clinton George Service
  - aa. Village of Deerfield Nathan O'Connor
  - bb. Village of Manchester Pat Vailliencourt
  - cc. Washtenaw County Harry Sheehan



320 Springbrook Avenue 🗆 Suite 102 🗈 Adrian,MI 🗀 49221 🗀 517-264-4754 <a href="mailto:rrwc@lenawee.mi.us">rrwc@lenawee.mi.us</a> 🗆 <a href="https://www.riverraisin.org">www.riverraisin.org</a>

Others Present: Richard Micka, Steve Bechler, Elizabeth Dumoulin, Jim Dumoulin, Katie Goplerud-Smith, Jason Smith, Jackie Murray, Leo Murray, Dan Ross, Sam Ross, Chris Winslow, Phil Westmoreland, Steve Roznowski, Larry Feldpausch, Cherry Haddix, Airin Beechler, Linda Easley, Ed Scheffler, Faith Scheffler, Jimmy Oard, M. Beechler, Jenny Escott, Charles Sweet, Charles DeVries, Johanna Lentz, Paul Rentschler, Jeff Seitz, L. Forhn, Senator Dale Zorn.

### 4. Approval of Agenda

Motion by Jenson to approve the agenda as presented – Second by Sheehan - Discussion/Additions – None - Motion passed by voice vote.

5. Approval of Fall Business Meeting Minutes - October 19, 2017

Discussion/Corrections:

1. Carley is spelled with a "C" not a "K".

Motion by Vailliencourt to accept the Spring Minutes as corrected – Second by Donaldson - Motion passed by voice vote.

- **6. Treasurer's Report:** Laurie Johncox did a recap of the year to date income and expenses <u>Year to date</u>: Income: \$48,750.57 Expenses: \$7,858.92 Ending Balance: \$40,891.65 -
- **7. Grant Monies:** Erb Foundation: \$43,140.00 TSN: \$6,900.00 Total: \$50,040.00

**2018 Budget:** Executive Director May discussed the final numbers for the 2017 budgeted year, and gave a recap for next year. Income: \$89,190.00, an increase of \$500.00 targeting an additional \$500.00 coming in from contributions.

Expenditures: \$89.190.00, a total increase of \$2,550.00, with an additional \$1,500.00 expense for Shoptalk and Regional Meetings, and \$500.00 for Professional Services - \$4450.00 for Capital Outlay. A realization of a negative \$7,150.00 overall is projected.

The Erb Foundation and TSN for 2018 are expected to remain the same with \$43,140.00 and \$6,900.00 to be used for the programs designated.

Executive Director May also commented on the amended by-laws which allow the Executive Committee the power to pay the monthly bills to carry on the goals of the Watershed if budget is not approved if a quorum is not present at the Fall Meeting.

Motion by Hoffman to accept the 2018 Budget - Second by Service - Motion passed by voice vote.



320 Springbrook Avenue 🗆 Suite 102 🗀 Adrian,MI 🗀 49221 🗀 517-264-4754 <a href="mailto:rrwc@lenawee.mi.us">rrwc@lenawee.mi.us</a> 🖂 <a href="https://www.riverraisin.org">www.riverraisin.org</a>

- 8. Chairman Update: John Calhoun
  - a. Nominating Committee Report: Presented by: Bob Jensen
    - i. Discussion:
      - 1. Chair John Calhoun
      - 2. Vice Chair Sybil Kolon
      - 3. Treasurer Laurie Johncox
      - 4. Secretary Karol "KZ" Bolton Lenawee (Permanent Member)
      - 5. Member- Evan Pratt- Washtenaw (Permanent Member)
      - 6. Member Dave Hoffman Monroe (Permanent Member)
      - 7. Member John Chandler Member
    - ii. Motion to accept the recommendation of the Executive Committee by the nominating committee: Motion by Jenson Second by Mann Motion passed by voice vote.

## 9. Executive Director Update:

Executive Director May presented 2018 Activities & Plans

- a. Membership is at (46) municipalities
  - 1. (5) Cities
  - 2. (33) Townships
  - 3. (8) Villages
  - 4. (2) Corporations
  - 5. (11) Individual Memberships
- b. Activities in the Watershed.
  - i. Outdoor Jamboree
  - ii. Art-A-Licious
  - iii. County Fairs with kayak raffle
  - iv. River clean up
  - v. Kayak launches
- c. Marketing
- d. Adopt-A-Stream
- e. Grants
  - i. Cooling the Hot Spots (5) different locations with phosphorous and dissolved phosphorous measurements.
  - ii. ERB grant is ongoing.
- f. River Raisin Watershed signs
  - i. River crossing signs for other counties (12) Monroe, (9) Jackson, (8) Washtenaw The (4) signs \$150.00 for each crossing.
  - ii. Planning mileage signs in the river as wayfaring for kayakers, canoers, etc.



320 Springbrook Avenue ☐ Suite 102 ☐ Adrian,MI ☐ 49221 ☐ 517-264-4754

<a href="mailto:rrwc@lenawee.mi.us">rrwc@lenawee.mi.us</a> ☐ www.riverraisin.org

- g. River Raisin Watershed tiles are for sale at the Clinton Art Center in Clinton.
- h. Staff looking for the assistant position to fill.
- i. Marketing will get information to everyone in the Watershed.
- j. Executive Director May introduced Leo and Jamie Murray Clinton 6<sup>th</sup> grade science, and Elizabeth DuMoulin Tecumseh 5<sup>th</sup> grade science, recipients of the \$200.00 "Discover the Raisin" Grant.
- k. Sybil Kolon was introduced. Sybil was appropriately dressed with high waders and tools needed to study "Vernal Pools." Sybil described the pools as special systems that house many aquatic finds.
- l. The FFA held a 5K run at the farm on Tipton Hwy. Johanna Lentz, Natural Resources from the LISD and Faith Scheffler, LISD presented the Watershed with (5) pairs of waders and money that was raised from the 5K run Executive Director May expressed appreciation for their efforts.

## 10. Program: - "Lake Erie Algae, Nutrient Loading and Current Research Efforts"

Dr. Christopher Winslow – Director, Ohio Sea Grant College Program

- a. Background and location of the program.
- b. Impacts of the algae blooms on communities and tourism.
- c. Goal of a 40% reduction in phosphorous by the year 2025 with priority initiatives.
- d. Discussion of where the nutrients come from.
- e. Discussed how to place phosphorous "directionally correct" on fields, the MAEAP program, how to help prevent runoff, reduce water usage, reduction in watering plants, eliminate phosphorous in lawn care, and monitor septic tanks.
- f. Information: winslow.33@osu.edu

#### 11. Old business:

a. None.

#### 12. New Business:

a. None.

**13. Adjourn:** Motion by Service support by Johncox to adjourn - Motion carried by voice vote.

Respectfully Submitted

KZ Bolton RRWC Secretary